3-Minute Film Competition

2019: Films will be accepted through Wednesday, October 16 for the 2019 3 Minute Film Competition! Learn more at hollandreno.org/3min

2018 Winners: Congrats to E’sha Cepane Hoferer with “#NODAPL” for taking the Audience Award tonight and to Vera Miller with “Reductive” for winning the Jury Award! 2nd Place Audience went to Erin Miller with “AHH, Vampire!” and 3rd Place Audience to Wyatt Hansen with “Walmart Brawl.” Special Jury Mention went to Rosie Trump for “Women in Cities.” CONGRATS ALL! Also thanks to all the filmmakers and to all those who rallied this stormy night.


2017 Winners: Congrats to Jesse McCloskey for “Art” and Emily Jiang for “Pinpo” (Audience & Jury Awards, 1st and 2nd), Vincent Moran for “Break” (3rd Place Audience), Tucker Rash for “To Love a Clown” and Wyatt Hansen for “Clone Wars” (Teen Jury Mentions). And thanks to all who came and packed the house!

2016 Winners:


3-min 2015


The 7th Annual 3-Minute Film Competition wrapped with a successful screening that took place at the Nevada Museum of Art on May 21, 2015. The Top 17 films were screened (as selected by a jury from over 40 submissions representing nearly every genre from filmmakers of all-ages), and at the end of the night we announced the winners. Kaleb Temple’s “Schnozzled” won the 2015 Jury Award, and took home the 2nd Place Audience Award as well! Robbie Racine and Joel Sauter won the Special Jury Mention for “Magnum Opus,” and Teen Jury Mentions were given to Tucker Rash for “Numbers” and Isabela Reyes Klein for “The Addlers.”

Jesse McCloskey won the coveted Audience Award for “Charge” (back-to-back champ! He won the Audience Award last year for “Solidarity”). 2nd Place was “Schnozzled,” as mentioned above, and 3rd Place Audience Award went to Steven Dickson’s “Apiphobia.”

Additional films screened as part of the 2015 3-Minute Film Competition included: Table Number 9 directed by Victor O’Frank; Carlos and Seabass directed by students from Rollan Melton Elementary; Wet by Dominic Lopez; Sweatin’ with PayPay directed by Chris Lanier; Demon Book by students from Neil Road Elementary; Swing with Me by Jon Shown; What I Might Do directed by Haleigh Hoff; Claymation directed by Boys and Girls Club students; Gone Today by Henry MacDiarmid; Suvivormates directed by Dan Pike; and The Artist’s Lament by Jason Spencer. Films submitted, but not screened will be available for viewing on Holland’s YouTube page.

The award-winning films will be screened on KNPB Channel 5 in Summer 2015. Until then, you can check out last year’s program on KNPB online!

Congratulations to all our winners, all those who submitted films, and the killer audience that sold out the NMA for the screening!

Screen Shot 2015-05-21 at 10.01.19 AM

< < Photo on Project page is from Tosha Palani’s 2013 Jury Award Winning Film, “Virgin Birth.” Photos at the top and bottom of this page are stills from the 2015 films “Charge,” “Schnozzled,” “Numbers” and “Magnum Opus.” > >